logo

The ConnectWise Control forum has moved to ConnectWise University! This forum has been locked and is in read-only mode. Click here for instructions on how to access the new forum.

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
sysadmin  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 7, 2011 3:57:38 PM(UTC)
sysadmin


Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Level 1: Random Act of Kindness! Received One Thanks!

Joined: 6/1/2011(UTC)
Posts: 73
Location: NYC

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I would like to have all nodes always appear for unattended sessions, yet it seems they disappear if they have not connected for some time. Is there a way to change this, or does this happen so nodes where the client was uninstalled will be removed after a day or so?

Ideally I would see that a computer is Connected or Disconnected without the disconnected computers vanishing, and a timer would be nice that shows how long they have been connected or disconnected so i could see

A) how long the computer has been on without a reboot
B) how long the computer has been off/disconnected

I realize the above may be more for the feature requests section, but I thought I might ask here as it may already be possible to add these things.

Jake  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 7, 2011 4:06:28 PM(UTC)
Jake


Rank: Administration

Medals: Level 4: Wise Old Owl! Received 100 Thanks!

Joined: 4/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 2,061

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 393 time(s) in 188 post(s)
This behavior changed in the latest of 2.2:
http://forum.screenconne...unattended-sessions.aspx

Any notes you had before will disappear, but they'll never disappear after that.

Also we added the ability for you to control how long they stay in the list after they've been disconnected.
ScreenConnect Team
John S  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 8, 2011 5:06:10 AM(UTC)
John S


Rank: Advanced Member

Joined: 5/6/2011(UTC)
Posts: 56
Location: Essex UK

Thanks: 3 times
Jake Morgan wrote:


Also we added the ability for you to control how long they stay in the list after they've been disconnected.


Hi Jake,

I'm running the latest 2.2, where do I find this option?

Many Thanks

John
sysadmin  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 8, 2011 10:59:41 AM(UTC)
sysadmin


Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Level 1: Random Act of Kindness! Received One Thanks!

Joined: 6/1/2011(UTC)
Posts: 73
Location: NYC

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Jake Morgan wrote:
This behavior changed in the latest of 2.2:
http://forum.screenconne...unattended-sessions.aspx

Any notes you had before will disappear, but they'll never disappear after that.

Also we added the ability for you to control how long they stay in the list after they've been disconnected.


Sounds good. As John asked, where/how do we control this?
Jake  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 8, 2011 1:22:34 PM(UTC)
Jake


Rank: Administration

Medals: Level 4: Wise Old Owl! Received 100 Thanks!

Joined: 4/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 2,061

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 393 time(s) in 188 post(s)
In the web.config there is an appSetting titled "SelfInvitationExpireSeconds" ... 86400 is the default, 24 hours.
ScreenConnect Team
engtech  
#6 Posted : Friday, July 8, 2011 12:24:26 PM(UTC)
engtech


Rank: Member

Joined: 7/8/2011(UTC)
Posts: 12
Location: Florida, USA

Am I correct in understanding that with this default setting, we lose unattended access to our customers if their computer is turned off for 24 hours?
engtech  
#7 Posted : Friday, July 8, 2011 12:26:27 PM(UTC)
engtech


Rank: Member

Joined: 7/8/2011(UTC)
Posts: 12
Location: Florida, USA

Or will it re-appear in our list once the computer comes back online?
Jake  
#8 Posted : Friday, July 8, 2011 12:50:40 PM(UTC)
Jake


Rank: Administration

Medals: Level 4: Wise Old Owl! Received 100 Thanks!

Joined: 4/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 2,061

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 393 time(s) in 188 post(s)
It'll come back with notes and all if they have a 2.2 unattended installer
ScreenConnect Team
bigdessert  
#9 Posted : Friday, July 8, 2011 3:29:42 PM(UTC)
bigdessert


Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: ScreenConnect Advisor: Focus Group MemberLevel 3: Shirt off your back! Received 25 Thanks!

Joined: 9/13/2010(UTC)
Posts: 708
Location: Minnesota

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 44 time(s) in 32 post(s)
Jake Morgan wrote:
It'll come back with notes and all if they have a 2.2 unattended installer


so this brings up a new question, is there a way to make the timeout infinite say a -1 or something?
Jake  
#10 Posted : Friday, July 8, 2011 3:51:12 PM(UTC)
Jake


Rank: Administration

Medals: Level 4: Wise Old Owl! Received 100 Thanks!

Joined: 4/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 2,061

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 393 time(s) in 188 post(s)
The value of the SelfInvitationExpireSeconds appSetting can be _really_ large, I think up to 1.7976931348623157E+308, so it'll be effectively infinite. For 2.3 I added the possibility to set it to zero, where it won't check at all.
ScreenConnect Team
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.